top of page

Autumn Nostalgia: A Free-Verse Poem



My blogging schedule has admittedly been quite wonky, so I thought I'd go ahead and add another unexpected post to the mix. 😉


Recently I realized it's been a bit since I shared some of my writing here on my blog. So I thought I'd share a little poem I wrote recently, inspired by my bittersweet, nostalgic love of autumn. There's really no reason in particular ... just a random-ish sort of post to brighten your day.


Autumn is really quite a contemplative season to me, probably because it marks my own personal new year. In my mind, it's a slightly more mellow time of year with distinct beauty all its own. It forces me to slow down and focus on the small things, and with it comes an inflow of memories that are otherwise forgotten. I'm really thankful to God for autumn, and I don't think I'd be able to live without it. 😆


Plus, the eggnog and firelight and sweaters really appeal to my dark academia soul. 😉


I had originally planned on sharing another of my autumn poems, but found it a bit depressing, so I went with this one instead. I was trying to capture the nostalgic, hiraethic feel that comes with the season every year. Who knows if I was successful or not, but without further ado ... here it is!


 

Autumn Nostalgia \\ E. C. Colton


there's a fog in my soul

of memories that turn old

ones from days long past

i never chose to forget



autumn brings them back

like paper cranes against

a stainless steel sky



i hold them close

as they flutter against my fingers

autumn's loveliest prize



i fill my pockets with autumn leaves

and laugh at thunder


i watch candlelight cloak

tiny withered pumpkins


i take one too many snapshots

hopeful it'll bribe them to stay



but it's never enough

to stop those paper cranes

from flying away.


 

Now it's your turn!


Thoughts? What is your favorite season, and what about it holds a special meaning to you? Would you like to see more poems by yours truly? (I have quite a bit 😆). Also, if poetry is your thing, definitely check out a poem I got published on Story Embers, and another amazing poem my good friend Natalie wrote that won the third Story Embers Poetry Contest! 😄


'Til next time!


~Em ✨ | E. C. Colton

66 views9 comments

Recent Posts

See All

9 Comments


scolton32
scolton32
Dec 10, 2021

Beautiful and thoughtful ❤️

Like
E. C. Colton
E. C. Colton
Jan 01, 2022
Replying to

Thank you so much! 😊

Like

Kristianne Hassman
Kristianne Hassman
Dec 09, 2021

This is beautiful!!

Like
E. C. Colton
E. C. Colton
Jan 01, 2022
Replying to

Aww, thank you!

Like

Wow, that was such a beautiful, imaginative poem!!! I love it!!!!

Like
E. C. Colton
E. C. Colton
Dec 08, 2021
Replying to

Aww, thank you, Saraina! 😊

Like

Wow, Em, this poem was SO pretty!! I loved the imagery sooo much! (plus you are so sweet! Your shoutout was so kind!)

Like
Replying to

Wow Natalie, I read your poem on Story Embers and looooved it!!! Amazing job!!

Like

daughter of Christ | author | tea connoisseur | cat mom | autumn's biggest fangirl | the bibliophile with all the controversial bookish opinions

E. C. Colton, more commonly known as Em, is the author of Shards of Sky, a contemporary YA novella. She loves soulful stories—books that leave the reader in tears while teaching deep truths that will last a lifetime.

On her little corner of the internet, she blogs about walking down the hard road of life as a Christian & clean YA fiction.

00100lrPORTRAIT_00100_BURST20200929131503724_COVER (4).jpg

Find out all of E. C. Colton's latest reads and thoughts on them!

Welcomequillofhope.png
Goodreadsqoh.png
bottom of page