top of page

I'm Quitting Quill of Hope



I've procrastinated writing this post for obvious reasons, but you read that right. Though I'm not exactly "quitting," per se, more like ... re-prioritizing. And re-organizing. And in the process, leaving a mess of changes and maybe a bit of sadness in my wake because y'know, that's what I do best. 😝


So! You might be wondering:


WHY?


*nods* It's a very good question. Honestly, it has to do with multiple things.


First off, keeping a blog is time-consuming. And honestly, there's been times that I've doubted it was even worth it, but I know God wanted me to keep Quill of Hope up and running for however long it did. However, the sheer amount of time I put into Quill of Hope over this past year in a half has been ridiculous (yes, my perfectionism is guilty of that). And in the process, I've allowed it to take up so much of my time that I've completely neglected my other platforms, which is never fun. So in giving up Quill of Hope, I'm hoping to open new doors to potential new platforms (😉) and make more time to maintain the ones I have.


Secondly, it's not a very effective platform—well, for me at least. I've talked this over with a few people from the Author Conservatory, and at this point in my life, I simply don't have the time to pour into my blog to make it actually matter in the grand scheme of things. It's more of just been a hobby, and a very time-consuming hobby, at that. 😅 And while I love writing posts for you all, it doesn't make much sense when I can just transfer my content to another platform (like my squad. More on that later 🙃).


I also think my priorities have gotten messed up. I've always wanted my squad to be the main focus, and blogging on the side, but somehow, blogging has a way of encroaching upon everything just because ... it's blogging. Or maybe I'm the one who's bad at time management. 😅


In my last novel, the main character had to let go of something that she was holding onto to an unhealthy level to move forward with healing. And I feel like this is similar. While this is an obviously less dramatic situation, there are similarities. I love my blog. But it's not really helping me at this point, and in fact, right now, it's actually doing more harm (in the form of my old friend, stress) than good. A hard lesson to learn, but y'know, sometimes, it's okay to let go.


Will I be returning to Quill of Hope?


No ...? 😝


At this point, I honestly don't know. 😆 I feel it wouldn't be very effective or realistic to say yes, considering the other things I plan on doing with my other platforms. So in response to this, it's probably a no ... well, for now. Because if I'm much older and God wants me to start blogging again, who am I to say no to Him? 🙃


My action plan


I'm going to be moving entirely over to my other two platforms, the most notable being my mailing list—otherwise known as the Elysfable Squad. (The other is Goodreads. But mainly for book reviews and such.)


As much as I love my blog, I love my mailing list more. It's really a fun, chill place, and I really enjoy chatting directly with you all. Plus, if you enjoy what I have here on Quill of Hope, I'm planning on writing a lot of similar content, only on Elysfable this time.


In addition, here's what you can expect from Elysfable:


  • Coffee chats where I share what God's been showing me lately to encourage and uplift you in your own life ☕️

  • Snippets of my writing that are strictly exclusive to Elysfable only 😲

  • Exclusive big bundle giveaways and (unexpected) freebies 😎

  • Talks about what we can learn from fiction & apply to our lives 📚

  • Spotlights on young authors & business owners currently impacting the world 🌎

  • Reading & music recs ... lots of them 🎧


I've been working on building my mailing list and making it the place I've always imagined it to be, and I'm so excited to watch it continue to grow.


Interested? Click the button below to join! (please note: if you received a blog notification/email when this post was released, or have been receiving emails from me already, you're already subscribed, so you just have to sit back and wait for the fun content to come to you! 😉)



With all that said, thank you so much to everyone who's supported me in the journey that is Quill of Hope. It was crazy, but I enjoyed every minute of it. Well, almost—minus the parts I wanted to pull out my hair. 😛


And goodbye, Quill of Hope. You'll always remain my writing roots. Thank you for all you've taught me, and I will always remember just how much I've grown through working on you.


*bows and dramatically leaves*


~E. C. Colton

274 views10 comments

Recent Posts

See All

daughter of Christ | author | tea connoisseur | cat mom | autumn's biggest fangirl | the bibliophile with all the controversial bookish opinions

E. C. Colton, more commonly known as Em, is the author of Shards of Sky, a contemporary YA novella. She loves soulful stories—books that leave the reader in tears while teaching deep truths that will last a lifetime.

On her little corner of the internet, she blogs about walking down the hard road of life as a Christian & clean YA fiction.

00100lrPORTRAIT_00100_BURST20200929131503724_COVER (4).jpg

Find out all of E. C. Colton's latest reads and thoughts on them!

Welcomequillofhope.png
Goodreadsqoh.png
bottom of page